Police Name Soldiers, Cops Accused Of Extra-Judicial Killings: Manila Standard

January 10, 2008 at 12:31 pm | Posted in 1 | Leave a comment
MANILA, Philippines – TASK Force Usig of the National Police yesterday revealed the names of the soldiers, policemen and civilians who have been arrested for their involvement in the killing of journalists and militants since the investigations began in 2001.

The 29 suspects, including three police officers and 11 soldiers and three paramilitary personnel, were involved in 15 cases. While most of the charges were dismissed, there were notable convictions including the one involving the three suspects in the Marlene Esperat killing.
“We are continuing our coordination with various government agencies specifically the prosecution and the courts to immediately resolve the cases involving these suspects, majority of whom are already behind bars,” said Task Force Usig commander and concurrent PNP Director for Investigation and Detective Management, Director Jefferson Soriano.
Soriano vowed to bring justice to the cases of the murdered activists and journalists and for the peace of mind of their families. “We are doing everything in our capacity to arrest and bring to the bar of justice the suspects in these killings.”
The list of suspects were included in Soriano’s report to National Police Chief Avelino Razon Jr.
The list includes Sgt. Rowie Barua, Estanislao Bismanos, Jerry Cabayag, Randy Grecia, Estrella Sabay and Osmena Montaner, all suspects in the murder of Marlene Esperat of the Midland Review in Tacurong City, Sultan Kudarat on March 2, 2004. Barua, Sabay and Grecia were eventually acquitted for lack of evidence while Bismanos, Cabayag and Grecia were convicted.
They are detained at the Tacurong City Jail.
Senior Police Officer 4 Apolonio Medrano and civilian Basilio Yadao were arrested on Nov. 18, 2004 for the murder of dzJC radio broadcaster Roger Mariano in July 2004; PO1 Aaron Golifardo, arrested and detained at the Puerto Princesa City Jail on May 24, 2006 for the murder of popular Puerto Princesa City dyPR radio announcer Fernando ‘Dong’ Batul and PO1 Guillermo Wapile, convicted in 2003 for the slaying of Edgar Damalerio, a dxKP announcer and editor the Zamboanga Scribe in Zamboanga del Sur on May 3, 2002.
Also listed were S/Sgt. Herbert Liguan, who was arrested on Aug. 18, 2006 for the murder of Rolly Canete, a commentator of dxPR in Pagadian City on Jan. 20, 2006 although he posted bail on Oct. 8 last year; M/Sgt. Antonio Torilla, Didok Anama and Leo Indangan, arrested for the murder of newsman Benjaline Hernandez in Kidapawan City.
Torilla posted bail on March 8, 2002 while Anama was acquitted for lack of evidence and Indangan remains jailed. There was also Perfecto Bonlawon, a member of the Citizens Armed Forces Geographical Unit who was arrested for the killing of leftist activist Peter Dangian in Tabuk, Kalinga but released from jail after he settled his case. (Jaime Pilapil)


Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

%d bloggers like this: